My Team

Letter to you,

I know that you are tired and frustrated and it almost doesn’t seem worth it to find a doctor, because it feels like you have seen them all. I get it, I really do.

One of the hardest things for me when looking for a doctor was when I would meet him/her for the first time and answering that first question… “so what brings you in today?” It seems silly, I know, but I didn’t really know why I was there except for the fact that something wasn’t right. At the time I couldn’t really explain it, I just knew that I was sick, even though I didn’t look it. I would list some of my symptoms only to hear time and time again that this is all normal and a part of getting older. Then given the same prescriptions that the last doctor prescribed and sent on my way. I felt lost. I didn’t know what was going on and it seemed like the doctors didn’t care. My thoughts would swing from one pendulum to another with: this is my life I need to accept it to I’m in my 20’s this isn’t normal.

It truly saddens me that it took me, and so many others out there, so much time to find a doctor that will listen. That will treat the problem and not just the symptom. I have been fortunate that through this time I had a support through family and friends.  When I would want to give up they were their telling me to keep going – they were (and are) my cheerleaders. They gave me strength and energy when I had none to give. They lent that ear when doctors didn’t. Although they might not have been the ones to actually diagnosis me they have helped me heal. I wouldn’t be where I am today without them.

I am truly grateful that my team consists of family, friends and doctors. They all have a place and purpose and help me in their own way each and everyday!

XO,
Alex

PS: I originally started this post with the topic of “Finding a Doctor” but in writing this I realized that as important as it is to have the right doctor it is more important to have a team.

Leave a Reply

