My Story

For the past 10+ years I have been battling an autoimmune disease, I just didn’t know it. I found myself going to doctor after doctor trying to figure out what was going on. Most of which told me this is just how it was and it was normal. Over these years I also started to look outside the traditional MD system hoping to find some answers. It seems like I tried it all — weekly massages, acupuncture, chiropractics, herbs, etc and things would improve for a short amount of time but not long term.

It wasn’t until December 2015 that things really changed because I was at my breaking point. I had missed work again, crawling on the floor because my legs have given out from the pain and my back had started spasming. I was 27 years old and couldn’t believe that this would be the rest of my life. As any child in pain, I called my mom who lived across the country hoping and praying that she could help! She had recently started seeing a new doctor (Applied Kinseoligist) and wanted me to see him when I was in town for Christmas. That week I ended up seeing him 2 times and after each appointment feeling better and better. He gave me a name of a doctor he was familiar with back in Colorado and I made an appt when I returned.

It was here with this doctor that he started to dig deeper trying to figure out what was causing these issues. I was eventually diagnosed with Hashimotos and high Estrogen. When discussing next steps, the first thing my doctor suggested was going on an AIP/Paleo lifestyle.

For the past year, I have been AIP/Paleo and really credit a lot of my healing to this new way of living. I have always believed that food is important but I am learning that a healthy lifestyle is just as important! This blog is my journey.

Leave a Reply

